Articles of Confederation (1777-1781)

What’s the over/under on this shizz lasting?

Articles of Confederation (1777-1781)

Preamble and Article 1

New Hampshire, Massachusetts bay, Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia are now a union called the United States of America

Article 2

Each state retains its sovereignty, freedom, independence, power and jurisdiction if the case is not mentioned in this document.

Article 3

They are in a league for common defense, security of liberties and welfare against attacks on them based on religion, sovereignty, trade, etc.

Article 4

Free people have privileges and immunities of free citizens. There is no restriction on freedom of movement between states. No duties will be placed on goods crossing state lines – only taxes within states. People committing crimes will be extradited. States have powers of record, action and law.

Article 5

Elected representatives will meet in Congress on the 1st Monday of November every year. The number of a state’s representatives will be between 2 and 7 depending on population. They will be appointed by state legislatures. Representatives may only be representatives for 3 years in a 6-year span. Freedom of speech in Congress and Court will not be impeached and members are protected from prison during their terms except for treason, felony or breach of peace.

Article 6

Only the central government can declare war and peace or have any foreign relations. No two states may form a treaty or alliance without consent of US government. States aren’t allowed to put imposts or duties on imports. States aren’t allowed standing armies or navies unless absolutely necessary. States must have prepared militias.

Article 7

States will appoint colonels and generals in armies.

Article 8

A common treasury will be established to defray the costs of war and will be paid into be state legislature based on property taxes.

Article 9

Only the US Congress can make war or peace, set up embassies, sign treaties and alliances, hire or deal with pirates, set up interstate courts, settle interstate disputes, set up post offices, regulate the military or appoint officers.

Article 10

A committee of states (any 9) is authorized to act on behalf of Congress during its recess.

Article 11

If Canada wants in, we’ll let them.

Article 12

The US government will honor the American debt from before the signing of this document.

Article 13

All States signing up are held to the document indefinitely. It can only be changed with the consent of Congress and each state legislature.

Author: knowit68

Leave a Reply